Area Restriction for South Peace Complex rescinded

PRINCE GEORGE – The Area Restriction that was established around the South Peace Complex has been rescinded effective as of 12:00 p.m. (PDT) on July 6, 2023.

With the reduced fire activity and behaviour, both current and anticipated, there is no longer a need to restrict public access in order for firefighting personnel to operate efficiently and safely in the area. On July 2, 2023, the West Kiskatinaw River (G70645) wildfire was classified as Being Held and the Peavine Creek (G70644) wildfire was classified as Under Control.

The BC Wildfire Service reminds members of the public and industry that the West Kiskatinaw and Peavine Creek (G70644) wildfires are still active wildfires and caution should be exercised at all times while travelling or working in the area. Even if an area restriction has been rescinded, officials still have authority under the Wildfire Act and the Wildfire Regulations to order anyone to leave the area.

Before entering any area affected by a wildfire, members of the public should be aware that significant safety hazards may be present. Trees that have been damaged by fire might be unstable and could fall. Ash pits can be hard to detect and can remain hot long after the flames have died down.

Road closures and area restrictions are subject to change depending on fire activity. For the most current information please visit the BC Wildfire Service’s Bans and Restriction Page.

Residents and travellers within the vicinity of these fires may continue to see smoke from within the perimeter and burned material; however, smoke that rises from green, unburnt fuel or from outside the perimeter should be reported immediately.

To report a wildfire or an open burning violation, call *5555 on a cell phone or 1-800-663-5555 toll-free. Reporting is also available through the BC Wildfire Service mobile app.

Follow the latest wildfire news:


Prince George Fire Centre Information Team
BC Wildfire Service
Prince George Fire Centre
250 561-4629

Connect with the Province of B.C. at